St. Laurence O Toole Pipe Band / Link

Southern Ireland's only Grade 1 pipe band.

In 1910 the St. Laurence O'Toole Gaelic Athletic Association Club in the CBS school, Seville Place, Dublin, organized a meeting. The main mover in forming the band was Frank Cahill . Frank was for many years an Alderman of Dublin Corporation , and later became a member of the new Irish Parliament (3 D‡il ƒireann ) . Amongst those present at the meeting were P‡draig Pearse , Thomas Clarke , Sean McDermott , Arthur Griffith , Douglas Hyde (3 later to become the first President of Ireland ) , and the famous Irish playwright Se‡n O'Casey . The first President of the band was Thomas Clarke . The first Secretary of the band was Se‡n O'Casey . Casey acted in many plays staged by the St. Laurence O'Toole Dramatic Society to raise money for the band . Michael Colgan (3 later a Senator ) was the first Pipe Major . Latest news from the Piping World, Band History and Information, MP3's for download and more. -

This link in a frame Preview

More Links of The Same Owner

St. Laurence O Toole Pipe Band


Created: 09/23/2005 :: Updated: 03/03/2009
Clicks this month: 0 :: Clicks in this month: 0
Clicks total: 202 :: Clicks in total: 0


Rating: 0.00 (0 votes) Rate this link


Contact Owner

Tell a Friend


Report An Error

To report an error please your message and data to this form or simply click the submit button below.